First Assembly of God, Dallas Texas is a historic and vibrant Pentecostal church. The roots of First Assembly of God run deep into the earliest days of the modern day Pentecostal movement. In 1906 a young man by the name of Fred F. Bosworth received the baptism in the Holy Spirit in Zion City Illinois under the ministry of Charles F. Parham. Rev. F.F. Bosworth went on to be an active participant and leader in the famed Azusa Street Revival in Los Angeles California.
In 1910 F. F. Bosworth and his assistant Rev. Elias G. Birdsall arrived in Dallas Texas to hold evangelistic meetings in what Bosworth called the “Pentecostal Tabernacle”. In 1912 Rev. Bosworth invited Maria B. Woodworth-Etter to conduct nightly tent meetings that lasted several months. This powerful Pentecostal revival complete with salvations, healings, miracles, signs and wonders, became the foundation of First Assembly of God and ignited a spiritual fire that still burns across North Texas. In 1914 the first General Council of the Assemblies of God convened in Hot Springs Arkansas. F.F. Bosworth and the church in Dallas were founding members of what is today the largest worldwide Pentecostal fellowship.
Over the next 100 years, First Assembly of God experienced growth and change. For many years First Assembly of God continued to be a center for Pentecostal revival in Dallas, hosting evangelists Aimee Semple Mcpherson, Dr. Charles S. Price, Smith Wigglesworth, Hattie Hammond, Ernest Williams and even Dr. J.N. Hoover, cousin to former President Herbert Hoover.
The church moved to Peak & Garland Ave in 1925. In 1930 the first broadcast of its kind, the ““Christ Ambassadors Full Gospel Hour” began on local radio station KRLD and the church became known as the “Full Gospel Church”. In 1937, the church took the name “First Assembly of God” under Rev. Loren B. Staats and in 1939 Rev Staats began publishing a monthly magazine called “The Full Gospel Herald” which grew to a circulation of over 5,000.
For over 40 years at Peak and Garland, First Assembly of God was served by a number of pastors who continued to build upon the spiritual foundation and held fast to the Pentecostal doctrine and experience. These pastors included Rev. Henry Alford and his wife Rev. Roxie Hughes, Rev. Harry Bowley, Rev. Albert Ott, Rev. Bracy Greer, and Rev. E. Elsworth Krogstad. 1965 was the first of 13 years of service by Rev. Edgar H. Palser. Under Rev. Palser, First Assembly moved to the corner of Lake Highland & Easton Rd in 1968. Rev. Robert D. Rogers served for a decade beginning in 1988. Then in 1998 Dallas First saw one of its own Rev. Thomas M. McMahan, born and raised in Dallas First Assembly, came home and took the pulpit for the next 17 years. Under his leadership the church relocated to its new facility on Northwest Highway. Pastor R. Daniel Enriquez officially accepted the role of leading First Assembly of God in early 2015.